Free Posts

Tips on Taking Notes

Even though I am just a grade 9 student, I do have a few things to say about note taking. In this post, I will show you some tips on taking notes. Note taking helps you do well in school especially studying for tests. With the help of  Chapman University’s site, I was able to show you some of the tips and tricks that help me take better notes, and I thought of sharing them with you guys, so here they are!

notes

By William Iven via Pixabay

Don’t Write Every Single Word: It’s hard to write down everything being presented to you because, after a while, you will fall behind. Instead, write down the main idea, listen what is being said about that idea, and jot down key points of the main idea.

Organize Your Notes: Try to keep your notes neat and organized, if you don’t have time to do this during class, you can redo or organize your notes a bit more so that you can find everything easily when it comes to studying for a test.

Use Symbols and Abbreviations: Sometimes when you take notes, you won’t have time to write full sentences or words, so instead you can use abbreviations and even make up your own as well. Some examples are, “=” for “equals”, “w/” for “with”, “+” for “and”.

Use Colors: Highlight or color words that are important to make them stand out, so when exam time comes, you know what the main ideas are and what you need to know about them.

Use Your Own Words: Try to put your notes in your own words, especially if you are taking notes from a textbook because later on when you go through your notes, you will remember and understand the information better. It will also take less time and space to take notes.

Missing Information: If you forget to write down something or missed what your teacher said, don’t worry. Leave some space to add in information, and ask either your teachers or classmates for the material you missed.

Review Your Notes: Note taking has one purpose and that is to help you remember information. You should review your notes once in a while to revise what you learned and if you come across something you are not sure about, it won’t be too late to ask your teacher about it.

What do you think about these tips? Let me know if they help you too. Don’t hesitate to comment any tips that helped you take better notes!

~Sundal

 

11 thoughts on “Tips on Taking Notes

  1. This is great advice. I think the best ones are to use your own words, use shortcuts and to use color. That is how I like to take notes. I also think it’s important to mention that writing notes by hand will help you remember more than what you write using a computer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed reading your post. I think that as high school students it is really helpful to know how to properly take notes. I personally like to use index cards as they are easy to carry around.

    Like

  3. I really think you have the right idea on taking notes. I often struggle with getting the right information and writing it in a way that I can understand it. It is a very important skill in life to be able to take good notes, and I think your advice is very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m really glad that you found my post helpful! And I couldn’t agree more on the fact that proper note taking is a very important skill in life. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to read my post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

